Wednesday, December 03, 2008

Wednesday: Understanding English Grammar, Betty Azar

Today's in class language points included use of ago, for, to, in, from, at, since, on:

I worked for DCI __________ 2007.
I have worked for DCI __________ 2007.
I worked for another company __________ 2003 __________.
I {began/started} {to work/working} for DCI __________ 2007.
I worked for another company __________ 2 years __________.
I have worked __________ DCI __________ 1 year __________.

We did this together as a class then individually we made it true for us.

We did a similar exercise focused on talking about ages of people drawing words or phrases from this group to complete the paragraph: am, is, are, were, was, will be, will have, has, have, had, years, years old, months, years, days, weeks.

I __________ 30 years old. In a few __________ I __________ 31, My mother _________ 50, She __________ 20 when I __________ born. My classmates ________ between 20 and 0 __________. Most of them __________ around 24 when they graduated from school. Franco's favorite niece __________ 3.

About the book: This is an author, Betty Azar, was introduced to me by a collegue at a school where I taught in Washington DC. I find her books clear, complete and to the point. I am looking forward to getting feedback on this text book from my clients.

Homework: Please use the comment section to post a series of brief autobiographical paragraphs telling who you are, what you have done in the past two years.


Abel Eduardo Gómez Cardoso said...

My best friend SAY me all of her secrets.
This morning my MOM TOLD ME THAT SHE would be late for dinner.
Please TELL him we don't need help.
She deserves to know the truth. TELL her.
The newscaster SAYS the police department is expanding.
Some people SAYS blonds have more fun.
Please TELL ME, "She sells seashells by the seashore," fast!
Did Tim SAY you Alice polished the table with furniture polish before the Polish police officer dropped by?

Abel Eduardo Gómez Cardoso said...

My name is Abel, I am 38 years old. I am married and my wife's name is Liliana, she is 36 years old. We have two children, my daugther is 17 years old and my son is 8 years old. I began to work for DCI in 2004 at the Monterrey City, one and a half year later, I changed my work place to Querétaro. I have lived at Querétaro since 2006 and I am confortable and happy here. Trough the last 2 years I founded new friends, really I enjoy my work.


About Me

Maestra norteamericana (USA), certificada por Cambridge (CELTA), con 4 anos de experiencia (en USA y en Mexico) con todos niveles, todas edades. Clases buenissimas de ingles ofertas en tu domicilio o empressa de empleo (tu lugar de trabajo). Nota las horas por mes, el costo por mes, y los horarios disponibles. Despues, comunica a la maestra lo mas pronto posible con tu horario preferido, tu costo preferido ($4,000 o $5,500), el lugar preferido de las clases, y cualquier otras preguntas que tendrias. 44-23-22-36-25 Queretaro, Queretaro, Mexico. Gracias para tu interes en mejorar tu ingles.